Learning Basic Astrology: All about the 9 Graha (Planets) in English & Sanskrit

Spread the word

Astrology is all about 12 signs, 27 constellations or nakshatras, 12 houses and 9 planets or grahas. Any prediction is based on these 4 parameters or their relations with each other.

Here we will share the basics of all the 9 planets and their name in English as well as Sanskrit.


The very first graha in Astrology is the Sun.

Sun is also called as Surya or Ravi in Sanskrit. Sun rules heart, soul and fatherhood. So, if a native has malefic Sun in his birth chart, he would suffer heart illness and might not have good relations with his father. Sun in ascendant makes one aggressive.

Moon is the Second Planet.

It is termed as Chandra in Sanskrit. Unlike sun, Moon is quite feminine. So, if a native has moon in ascendant position, he will have feminine attributes.

The Third is Mars

Mars is called as Mangal or Bhaum in Sanskrit. In South India, it is also called as Kuja.

Fourth is Mercury

Mercury is termed as Budh in Sanskrit.

Jupiter is the fifth Planet

It is addressed as Guru or Brihaspati in Sanskrit. It is considered as a benefic planet.

Venus is Sixth

Venus goes by the name of Shukra in Sanskrit. Just like Jupiter, Venus too comes under a benefic planet.

Also Read: Kali Yuga: The Age of Downfall Coming to an End?

Saturn is seventh

Saturn is known as Shani in Sanskrit.

Eight is North Node.

We known this as Rahu.

South Node is the last planet.

We are familiar about South Node as Ketu.

Now, out of the 9 planets – Moon, Mercury, Venus and Jupiter are benefic planets. On the other hand, Sun, Mars, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu are malefic planets.

Also Read: Spiritual Awakening Is The Key to Happiness & Good Work-Life Balance

Moon and Mercury are not always beneficial. It depends on their position. Moon close to full moon day is beneficial but, moon close to new moon day is considered as malefic. Similarly, Mercury is benefic when it is situated close to benefic planets and is malefic when it is situated close to malefic planets.

Rahu and Ketu are natural malefics but under the influence of benefic, the two graha too behave like benefics.

Facebook Comments
About Team NationalViews 329 Articles
The articles are written by the staff of NationalViews